## **CHRISTOPHER H. SMITH**

4TH DISTRICT, NEW JERSEY

CONSTITUENT SERVICE CENTERS:

OCEAN

Visit: 33 Washington Street Toms River, NJ 08754 Mail: PO Box 728 Toms River, NJ 08754 (732) 504–0567

MONMOUTH

1715 Highway 35 North Suite 303 Middletown, NJ 07748 (732) 780–3035



CHAIRMAN, CONGRESSIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMISSION ON CHINA

CHAIRMAN, GLOBAL HEALTH, GLOBAL HUMAN RIGHTS, AND INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE

CO-CHAIRMAN, TOM LANTOS HUMAN RIGHTS
COMMISSION

SENIOR MEMBER, HOUSE FOREIGN AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

www.chrissmith.house.gov

March 5, 2024

His Excellency Senator Luis Eduardo Girao Senado Federal, Anexo II, Ala Teotonio Vilela Gabinete 21, Brasilia DF – sen.eduardogirao@senado.leg.br

Dear Senator Eduardo Girao,

I write to express to you my interest to learn more about recent developments in Brazil.

As Co-Chairman of the Tom Lantos Human Rights Commision and Chairman of the Global Human Rights, Global Health, and International Organizations Subcommittee, I closely follow developments in human rights. As you are aware, some of the world's leading news media have published reports of serious violations of human rights and the rule of law by officials of the government of Brazil, including the muzzling of opposition media and other violations of media freedom and freedom of expression, and the persecution of critics of the government and members and supporters of opposition political parties.

Your position and responsibilities as an elected official make you an invaluable source of insight into the situation in your country and uniquely qualified to represent the concerns of its people. I would like to extend an invitation to you to meet with me and other congressional colleagues in Washington and to attend a hearing I will chair on March 12, 2024 on human rights and democracy in Brazil. Through you, I would also like to extend this invitation to all of your colleagues in the Senate and Chamber of Deputies of Brazil listed on the enclosed attachment.

This hearing and our discussion will usefully inform congressional oversight over U.S. foreign policy as well as potential advocacy in support of the human rights of the people of Brazil. In my service as a U.S. Congressman I have had the pleasure and privilege of visiting your country, knowing and working with many Brazilians and Brazilian-Americans, and remain deeply committed to strengthening the relationship between the U.S. and Brazil.

Sincerely,

CHRISTOPHER H. SMITH

Member of Congress

## **Attached List**

Senators: Eduardo Girao; Magno Malta; Ciro Nogueira Lima Filho; Jorge Seif Júnior; Flavio Bolsonaro; Rogerio Marinho

Congressmen: Eduardo Nantes Bolsonaro; Carlos Roberto Coelho de Mattos Junior; Gilberto Gomes da Silva; Lenildo Mendes dos Santos Sertão; Evandro Gonçalves da Silva Júnior; Paulo Francisco Muniz Bilynskyj; Rosangela Maria Wolff de Quadro Moro; Altineu Côrtes Freitas Coutinho; Rodrigo Santana Valadares; Alden Jose Lazaro da Silva; Gilvan Aguiar Costa; Geraldo Junio do Amaral; Mauricio Bedin Marcon; Zacarias Calil Hamu; Alberto Barros Cavalcante Neto; Sostenes Silva Cavalcante; Evair Vieira de Melo; Alexandre Ramagem Rodrigues; Marcel Van Hattem; Daniel Costa de Freitas; Carla Zambelli Salgado; Abilio Jacques Brunini Moumer; Rúbia Fernanda Diniz Robson Santos de Siqueira; Amália Scudeler de Barros Santos; José Antônio dos Santos Medeiros; Daniela Cristina Reinehr; Mauricio Luiz de Souza Marcio Aurélio Corrêa; André Fernandes de Moura; Manoel Messias Donato Bezerra; Luciano Lorenzini Zucco; Beatriz Kicis Torrents De Sordi; Antônio Pereira Gomes; Any Machado Ortiz; Alcibio Mesquita Bibo Nunes; Caroline Rodrigues de Toni; Chritine Nogueira dos Reis Tonietto; Paulo Adriano Lopes Lucinda Telhada; Adriana Miguel Ventura; Eliéser Girão Monteiro Filho; Domingos Sávio Campos Resende; Frederico de Castro Escaleira; Eder Mauro Cardoso Barra; Eli Dias Borges; Eros Ferreira Biondini; Felipe Barros Baptista de Toledo Ribeiro; Fernando Rodrigues Máximo; Filipe Martins dos Santos; João Alberto Fraga Silva; Giovani Cherini; Helio Fernando Barbosa Lopes; Julia Zanatta; Kim Patroca Kataguiri; Lincoln Diniz Portela; Luiz Eduardo Carneiro da Silva de Souza Lima; Luiz Philippe de Orleans Bragança; Magda Mofatto Hon; Marcelo Henrique Teixeira Dias; Marco Antônio Feliciano; Mario Luis Frias; Luiz de França e Silva Meira; Nikolas Ferreira de Oliveira; Rafael Pezenti; Ricardo de Aquino Salles Rodolfo Oliveira Nogueira; Gilson Cardoso Fahur; Soraya Alencar dos Santos; Ubiratan Antunes Sanderson; Nelsi Coguetto Maria; Alfredo Gaspar de Mendonça Neto